History of Oman Aviation

The History of Oman’s Aviation

Beit Al Falaj Airport

Beit Al Falaj Airport dates back to 1929 when the runway was simply a dirt airstrip used as a military ground and by Petroleum Development Oman Company airplanes to fly from Muscat to the oil exploration fields in Fahud, Qarn Al Alam and other locations.

Bait Al Falaj Airport was the first airport in Oman, fitted with limited equipment and facilities to serve as a civil airport. It included a telecommunication center, customs office, asphalt-paved parking for aircraft and a maintenance shed, in addition to these low-key facilities, the airport was able to play a minor role in the advancement of civil aviation in Oman.

In the 1960s, Gulf Air started using the airport for its DC3 aircraft. At the beginning of the seventies, Pakistani and British Airlines commenced operations in Oman with semi-regular passenger flights. Although Bait Al Falaj Airport was mainly used for military purposes and for a few civilian flights, takeoffs and landings were fraught with dangers due to the narrow landing strip and high mountains and hills around the airport area.
Bait Al Falaj Airport is just a memory now, and the site of the airfield is now the center of modern commercial and residential buildings.

Seeb International Airport

Oman has been consistently expanding since 1970, when His Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Said acceded to the throne and introduced a program of economic reforms, boosting spending on health, education and welfare. Recognizing the need for a new airport to support the anticipated growth in passenger and cargo movements, a contract was placed by the government in September 1970 to build Seeb Airport, now known as Muscat International Airport.

Situated at 32 kilometers west of Muscat city, the capital of the Sultanate of Oman, it was officially launched on 23rd December 1973. A year later, as proof of the airport's potential to support the world’s fastest aircraft movements, Concorde landed at the airport on a visit to the Sultanate during its experimental flight.

By the end of the first year, approximately 87,200 passengers flew into and out of the airport. Moreover, the airport served 4.7 million passengers in 2006. This remarkable growth was one of the primary reasons behind the airport’s expansion in accommodating the increasing growth of the tourism and business sectors.

In 1983, the airport witnessed major expansions in the arrival and departure terminals and a new transit hall that included several duty-free shops was built at the airport. The current cargo terminal was completed in 1991 with modern facilities comparable to those at other international airports at the time.

As of January 2002, Oman Airport Management Company was established as a consortium between the British Airports Authority, Bahwan Trading Company and ABB Equity Ventures, to manage and develop Muscat International Airports and Salalah, as part of a 25-year concession agreement as part of the airport privatization plan.

In November 2004, the government of the Sultanate of Oman reassumed the management and development of Seeb and Salalah Airports. However, the Omani government and OAMC partners failed to reach an agreement on the financial basis for the development of the new terminal at Muscat International Airport. Oman Airport Management has been, therefore, retained with the approval to change the structure of the company's shareholders.

Muscat International Airport

The name Seeb International Airport was changed to Muscat International Airport on the 1st of February 2008. The new name highlights Muscat – a city associated with the history of the country that is also known worldwide.

Approvals for the name change have been obtained by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and Muscat International Airport is now internationally known.

تنبيه

آخر المستجدات بشأن إجراءات السفر المتعلقة بفيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

لمعرفة المزيد
أغلق هذا الشريط

نبذة تاريخية

نبذة تاريخية

مطار بيت الفلج

يعود تاريخ مطار بيت الفلج إلى عام 1929، حيث كان عبارة عن مسار هبوط ترابي يُستخدم بشكل أساسي لأهداف عسكرية. كما تمّ استخدامه في تلك الحقبة من قبل طائرات تابعة لشركة تنمية نفط عُمان التي كانت تطير بين مسقط وحقول التنقيب عن النفط في فهود وقرن العلم وغيرها من المواقع.

يعتبر مطار بيت الفلج أول مطار في سلطنة عمان وقد تم تزويده بمعدات ومرافق محدودة ساعدت في تلك الحقبة في انطلاقة تشغيله كمطار مدني. وكان يتضمن مركزاً للاتصالات، ومكاتب للجمارك، ومواقف مرصوفة بالإسفلت لوقوف الطائرات وصيانتها، بالإضافة إلى مرافق متواضعة شكلت نقطة الانطلاق في تحويل المطار إلى لعب دور تدريجي في تطوير الطيران المدني في سلطنة عمان.

وفي ستينات القرن الماضي، بدأت شركة طيران الخليج تستخدم المطار لطائراتها من نوع دي سي 3. وفي مطلع السبعينات، بدأت الخطوط الجوية الباكستانية والخطوط البريطانية بتشغيل رحلات شبه منتظمة لنقل المسافرين من وإلى السلطنة. وعلى الرغم من أن مطار بيت الفلج كان يستخدم بصورة أساسية للأغراض العسكرية، بالإضافة إلى عدد قليل من الرحلات المدنية، إلاّ أن عمليّات الإقلاع والهبوط كانت محفوفة بالمخاطر نظراً لضيق مدرج المطار والجبال العالية والتلال المحيطة بمنطقة المطار.

أما اليوم، فقد أصبح مطار بيت الفلج ذكرى لبداية جديدة كما تحوّل موقعه إلى مركز يحتضن مبان تجارية وسكنية عصرية.

مطار السيب الدولي

شهدت سلطنة عمان نمواً مطرداً منذ الثالث والعشرين من يوليو عام 1970، عندما تولى مولانا حضرة صاحب الجلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد – رحمه الله – مقاليد الحكم بالبلاد، حيث سهر على استحداث برنامج للإصلاح الاقتصادي، مع التركيز على زيادة الإنفاق على الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والشؤون الاجتماعية. وإدراكاً للحاجة إلى مطار جديد لمواكبة النمو المتوقع في حركة المسافرين والبضائع، وقعت الحكومة عقداً في سبتمبر 1970 لتشييد مطار السيب الدولي الذي أصبح اليوم مطار مسقط الدولي.

يقع المطار على بعد نحو 32 كلم غربي مدينة مسقط - عاصمة سلطنة عمان، وقد تم افتتاحه رسمياً بتاريخ 23 ديسمبر 1973. وبهدف إثبات قدرة المطار على استيعاب أسرع الطائرات التجارية في العالم، قامت طائرة كونكورد بالهبوط فيه في العام التالي في إطار رحلة تجريبية إلى المنطقة.

وفي نهاية العام الأول، بلغ عدد الركاب المسافرين عبر المطار حوالى 87.200 مسافر. وفي العام 2006، قدم المطار خدماته إلى حوالى 4.7 مليون مسافر خلال عام 2006، ويعود سبب هذا النمو المذهل في القدرة الاستيعابية للمطار إلى النمو المتزايد في قطاعي السياحة والتجارة.

في عام 1983، شهد المطار عمليات توسيع كبرى لمباني المسافرين القادمين والمغادرين، وإضافة قاعة عبور ترانزيت جديدة للمسافرين تضمّ عدداً من متاجر الأسواق الحرّة. وفي عام 1991، تمّ استكمال تشييد مبنى الشحن الحالي بمرافقه الحديثة التي تضاهي مثيلاتها في المطارات الدولية الأخرى في ذلك الوقت.

اعتباراً من شهر من يناير 2002، تمّ تأسيس الشركة العُمانية لإدارة المطارات كشركة اتحادية بين كلّ من هيئة المطارات البريطانية وشركة بهوان للتجارة وشركة ABB الأمريكية، لتولي إدارة وتطوير مطاريّ مسقط الدولي وصلالة، بموجب اتفاقية امتياز تمتد إلى 25 عاماً في إطار خطة خصخصة المطارات. 

وفي نوفمبر 2004 استأنفت حكومة سلطنة عمان إدارة وتطوير مطاري السيب وصلالة، ولم تتوصل حكومة سلطنة عمان وشركاء الشركة العمانية لإدارة المطارات إلى اتفاق حول المسائل المالية لتطوير المبنى الجديد لمطار مسقط الدولي. وبالتالي تمّ الإبقاء على الشركة العُمانية لإدارة المطارات مع الموافقة على تغيير هيكل مساهمي الشركة.

مطار مسقط الدولي

تم تغيير اسم مطار السيب الدولي إلى مطار مسقط الدولي في الأول من فبراير 2008. ويرمز الاسم الجديد إلى العاصمة مسقط بتاريخها العريق التي يزخر بتراث حضاري متأصل يرسخ جذور السلطنة التي تجتذب الزوار من جميع أنحاء العالم.

تمّ الحصول على الموافقات اللازمة لتغيير الاسم من قبل منظمة الطيران المدنيّ الدوليّة، وأصبح مطار مسقط الدوليّ اليوم معروفاً عالميّا بهذا الاسم.